Coverart for item
The Resource Spymistress : The True Story of the Greatest Female Secret Agent of World War II, (electronic resource :)

Spymistress : The True Story of the Greatest Female Secret Agent of World War II, (electronic resource :)

Label
Spymistress : The True Story of the Greatest Female Secret Agent of World War II
Title
Spymistress
Title remainder
The True Story of the Greatest Female Secret Agent of World War II
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • eng
Summary
The New York Times Bestseller by the Author of A Man Called Intrepid Ideal for fans of Nancy Wake, Virginia Hall, The Last Goodnight by Howard Blum, The Woman Who Smashed Codes, The Wolves at the Door by Judith Pearson, and similar works Shares the story of Vera Atkins, legendary spy and holder of the Legion of Honor Written by William Stevenson, the only person whom she trusted to write her biography She was stunning. She was ruthless. She was brilliant and had a will of iron. Born Vera Maria Rosenberg in Bucharest, she became Vera Atkins. William Stphenson, the spymaster who would later be known as 2Intrepid3, recruited her when she was twenty-three. Vera spent most of the 1930s running too many dangerous espionage missions to count. When war was declared in 1939, her many skills made her one of the leaders of the Special Operations Executive (SOE), a covert intelligence agency formed by, and reporting to, Winston Churchill. She trained and recruited hundreds of agents, including dozens of women. Their job was to seamlessly penetrate deep behind the enemy lines.  As General Dwight D. Eisenhower said, the fantastic exploits and extraordinary courage of the SOE agents and the French Resistance fighters 2shortened the war by many months.3They are celebrated, as they should be. But Vera Atkins’s central role has been hidden until after she died; William Stevenson promised to wait and publish her story posthumously. Now, Vera Atkins can be celebrated and known for the hero she was: the woman whose beauty, intelligence, and unwavering dedication proved key in turning the tide of World War II
Cataloging source
MnSpTMCL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Stevenson, William
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
cloudLibrary
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • 20th Century
  • 20th Century
  • Espionage
  • World War II
Label
Spymistress : The True Story of the Greatest Female Secret Agent of World War II, (electronic resource :)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
on9781628721867
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
352 p.
Form of item
electronic
Isbn
9781628721867
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
ewfyd89
Label
Spymistress : The True Story of the Greatest Female Secret Agent of World War II, (electronic resource :)
Link
Publication
Control code
on9781628721867
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
352 p.
Form of item
electronic
Isbn
9781628721867
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
ewfyd89

Library Locations

  • Beaty BranchBorrow it
    945 Fourth Line, Milton, ON, L9T 6P8, CA
    43.5191572 -79.8326561
  • Milton Public Library - Main LibraryBorrow it
    1010 Main Street East, Milton, ON, L9T 6H7, CA
    43.5284163 -79.8680098
  • Sherwood BranchBorrow it
    6355 Main Street West, Milton, ON, L9T 2Y1, CA
    43.5030493 -79.8968685